The Real Machine Gun Preacher

Like most people in the world I go to see movies for entertainment value mostly, hardly expecting a rude wake up call to reality on a lazy Saturday afternoon chilling on my couch.  

Real Angels Do Exist

Real Angels Do Exist

But that is what I got when I switched on my television last weekend.  The only reason I picked to stay on the channel was that Gerard Butler was playing the lead and who doesn’t find the man dreamy.

But as you continue watching you slowly get sucked into this true life story of a man I can only call a real life angel.  And that man is Sam Childers.  A hero if I ever saw one.

An American who up and took a trip to Africa and decided to build an orphanage in the middle of nowhere to help those children that the world had forgotten about. It took the landmine torn body of a child to open his eyes.  And he has been making a difference ever since.

I hope that it does not take more torn and broken children to open the eyes of the rest of the world.  What is going on in some part of Africa is nothing but a crime against humanity and to harm a child is certainly the worst crime in the world. And Sam is one man trying to make a difference against people like Joseph Kony.  A monster in human form if I ever saw one.  A man responsible for abducting thousands of children and using them as child soldiers and sex slaves.

I am not just talking about a few thousand children, I am talking about tens of thousands of children of all ages.  Forced to do thing no child should ever even know about. And One man decided that that was his calling, that he was going to fight for these invisible children.

We might not be able to save the whole world, but to the thousand plus children in Africa that have called Sam’s orphanage home, he saved their world and their lives and he has given hope in times when it is sorely needed.

Sometimes Hope is all it takes.

Invisible Children

One comment on “The Real Machine Gun Preacher

  1. Pingback: Sam Childers: Machine Gun Preacher | SWANKYCYN.com

Leave a comment